Mission San José was founded 11 June 1797 (14th in order) by Padre Fermin Francisco de Lasuén. The mission is named for Saint Joseph. The Indian name was Oroysom. The adobe church stood until an earthquake destroyed it in 1868. A wooden church replaced it. This church was moved to Burlingame in 1982. A 1985 restoration then completed work on the “original” Mission San Jose. Enter through the Mission museum.
Flash photography is not allowed in the museum or church.
The mission is on the North side of Fremont, on the inland (Eastern) side of the San Francisco Bay. From U.S. 101 take Interstate 680 Northbound approximately 16 miles to the Northern Mission Blvd. exit (there are two Mission Blvd. intersections; you want the Northern one). Turn right off the Interstate and the mission is at 43300 Mission Blvd., about a half mile from the freeway (California Landmark 334).
- Open daily 10am-5pm. Closed New Years, Easter, Thanksgiving, and Christmas day. [Note: MissionTour tries to keep this information up to date but cannot guarantee its accuracy as this is not the official Mission website. If planning a drive to the Mission please contact them directly to get the latest information in order to avoid disappointment.]
- Mail: 43300 Mission Blvd., P.O. Box 3159, Fremont, CA 94539
- Website: http://missionsanjose.org/
- Phone: (510) 657-1797