Picture taken 1:15pm 22 Apr 2001
Mission San Miguel Arcángel was founded 25 July 1797 (16th in order) by Padre Fermin Francisco de Lasuén. The mission is named for Saint Michael the Archangel. The Indian name was Vahiá (Vatica), or Chulam (Cholame). Many of the original decorations and paintings in the mission have survived until today. The decorations make the church appear much more ornate than it is. The “all-seeing eye of God” is above the altar. [The church was damaged in the 22 December 2003 San Simeon earthquake. It reopened September 2009 after extensive repairs.]
The mission is at the South end of San Miguel, a small town about eight miles North of Paso Robles on U.S. 101. The address is 775 Mission Street (California Landmark 326).
- Open daily 10:00am-4:30pm. Closed 1 January, Easter, Thanksgiving, and Christmas day. Fiesta is in September (call for specific dates each year). [Note: MissionTour tries to keep this information up to date but cannot guarantee its accuracy as this is not the official Mission website. If planning a drive to the Mission please contact them directly to get the latest information in order to avoid disappointment.]
- Mass schedule: Please see the official website for the current Mass schedule.
- Mail: PO Box 69, San Miguel, CA 93451-0069
- Phone: (805) 467-3256
- E-mail: [email protected]
- Web Site: http://missionsanmiguel.org/
- [Last checked and confirmed 11 Feb 2016]